Warns, George Walter

George Warns
Pan Am Clipper, July 1977

George W. Warns,. He was the flight engineer on the Pan Am jumbojet and was 46 years of age at the time of the Tenerife collision at Los Rodeos Airport. His total flying time as a flight engineer was 15,210 hours and he held a Turbojet rating certificate. ”…’We finally located the taxiway we were to exit the runway and were turning into it when we noticed flickering lights approaching us. Have you ever noticed what a motorcycle headlight looks like when it is approaching you at night? This was the same so we realized that the lights were coming toward us. The captain increased the power to try to get out of the way but a 747 does not respond instantaneously and there is a slight lag….
We all thought that our lives…were about to come to an end. After the initial contact I looked back and all I could see was sky and a lot of black smoke. How I got out of my seat I can’t recall but I guess that is strictly jerk reaction after doing it automatically for 22 years. The electrical panel to the right of the engineer’s panel blew up in my face with a blinding white light. I then looked where the emergency exit door was but it was gone. I looked down at the ground and all I could see was debris and fire. I yelled to the rest of the crew to try the other side because there was no way out on that side. I then looked down and saw 2 Blue seats in the first class compartment so I jumped down. There were several people standing were (sic) the Main entrance door used to be so I told them to get out of the plane. About that time the nose must have collapsed and I was thrown to the ground. I landed on the partially inflated escape slide but it was extremely hot causing burns to both of my arms and face because they were uncovered. I struggled free and the (sic) proceeded to get as far away from the plane as possible but on the way I picked up passengers and told them to run as far as they could go. After helping all of the people in my area into ambulances the Capt., myself and some passengers were taken to the hospital for treatment. After being treated I went to a room in the maternity ward because that was the only space available. I was fortunate enough to place a telephone call home to my wife to tell her I was alive.” (Letter from George Warns, dated 21 March 1990) The material presented on this page has been researched by Peter Engberg-Klarström. Copyright 2017 Peter Engberg-Klarström.
Feel free to use the research, but please refer to my research if used in publications or if published or posted on other pages on the Internet

One thought on “Warns, George Walter

  1. First, I’m glad you had the interview for posterity sakes. Likewise, I’m grateful that you posted here. I have a question though. As I read in response, there was the term (sic). What does that mean exactly? I can speculate, but I would prefer to know for certain. Thank you

    Like

Leave a comment